Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Happy Bastille Day! Merci France, for your role in the popularization of the much beloved quiche. Although a rightful tip-of-the-hat is due to Germany for its origin, this savory brunch staple is ever-associated with France. Until recently, I had not made a traditional quiche with any reference to a recipe. After a bit of research, I finally understand why they are so delicious when ordered at a restaurant. They are loaded with cream; sweet, frothy, and luscious heavy cream. C’est délicieux!

I had the pleasure of baking and assisting with another charity fête for the wonderful Carlisle Arts Learning Center. I used all local eggs, cheese from Keswick Creamery, and some greens from the farmer’s market as well. (*Side note, Keswick is so awesome! I also arranged a couple of cheese trays for the event using their products, and the herbes de provence chevré was both delicately beautiful and delectable.)

The first type of quiche was baby ‘bella mushroom, asparagus, shallot, and herbed goat cheese:
IMG_2926
IMG_2914

I even used my Le Creuset cast iron frying pan to make it extra authentic! Next I made a sightly larger quiche of sauteed spinach, kale, and caramelized onions with cheddar. I topped it with roasted cherry tomatoes, which worked perfectly as a cutting guide for slices. IMG_2930

I was nervous putting them in the oven, as they contained much more liquid than I imagined. Apparently the egg to milk ration is nearly equal. Luckily, my friend Kate, who is a quiche genius at Helena’s Chocolate Café and Crêperie, (my previous place of emploi) coached me on the phone on some basic points. The most relevant tip I can pass on is to watch for a firm jiggle. This springy shake signifies the quiche i ready to come out, and will have that silky smooth custard texture. I actually tried to take a little video of the shake, but was unsuccessful one-handed!

I hope everyone is enjoying their week, and soaking up the mid-July sunshine!

Until next time:)

-Jenny

